Search forum topics
Search members
Search for trades
diablo2.io is supported by ads
0 replies   1316 views

Description

Before I get into the results...

One of the most fun things about D2 is twinking your char. Balancing various forms of damage, survivability, MF, etc. Always making minor improvements, sometimes making massive improvements. I've always found this so engaging, as far back as middle school when I started playing 1.09.

Since D2R launch I've been playing this hybridzon (or "Fishyzon") exclusively. This build's dual-element aspect, both of which also pack significant physical damage and therefore leech and huge versatility, is just so much fun to optimize. Off-weapon IAS, off-weapon +skills, and off-weapon physical damage sources all improve all of your attack modes (
Freezing Arrow
Lightning Fury
, and
Charged Strike
). To make things even more interesting,
Charged Strike
effectively has damage breakpoints...damage per bolt increases with each level, but at certain levels, the number of
Bolts
also increments: 8 at level 25, 9 at 30, 10 at 35, and 11 at 40.

I've been mulling it over for a few weeks what will be my end-game
Helm
. I can't stand
Shako
. Worn it on probably 90% of the chars I've made over the years, and just completely done with it, especially now that we have this beautiful aesthetic remaster. Since I'm going to eventually use CoH (no
Teleport
), I decided to go with a rare
Circlet
with +2 skills, FRW and 2 sockets. Next the decision is, what to do with those sockets? My other end-game gear and the available IAS breakpoints dictate that I have at least 15% IAS in either my
Helm
or on my amulet.

If I put IAS jewel in one of my
Helm
sockets, then I can use a +2 skills
Blood Amulet
(style points, FRW), or
Mara's Kaleidoscope
(not as useful as you might think, with CoH covering resists).

If I don't use an IAS jewel, I must use
Highlord's Wrath
or
The Cat's Eye
, but I could put 2 facets in my
Circlet