Americas PC
ALLEyezOnMe wrote: 1 year ago
a bunch of logical stuff
Yeah they could, maybe even should, but they wont

Gunar 35

Amazon PC
Asha wrote: 1 year ago
I can understand "okay, we're patchin it now - so u can't use this exploit from now on". But nooo... "let's hit you hard, and erase what you got. Get ur ass to ladder, bc slave must work more n more. We want you to switch to ladder - we don't give a damn if you don't want it". Great, Blizzard. Fhank you alot - if I discover my weapon's gone when I'm back from duty tomorrow...
Stopping the exploit, but allowing the items to continue existing as runewords would be a big "L" for the people responsible, hence not really an option. I thought that they are just going to implement a check, leaving a "gemmed item" if a list of runewords is found on non-ladder. Sounds like the most logical way to approach this, at least to me.
As a developer, I figure it was just a hint easier to drop a line of SQL on their data base (and saying "who cares, just f* you"), than insert 2 lines of code in the next patch.

Schnorki 3153Moderator

PC
You do realize you're talking about Blizzard here, right?

They have never cared about your items or the work you put in.

"You unknowingly traded for dupes? Well, tough luck, we've added item IDs so all your crap just goes poof."
"You lost your stupid lucky double
Ber
drop because we crashed stuff during maintenance and rolled everything back 24 hours? Yeah, not our problem."
"209842384902934 people had their characters go poof days into it, repeatedly, because we can't launch a game without breaking everything? We're sure they just all hit the delete button over and over!"
"Items keep going poof from stashes because we don't understand save file sizes? Really don't care."